Health Monitoring of the Viennese Reichsbrücke

Wind, earthquakes, road traffic and other influences represents the loading of a bridge during its lifetime. To permanent assess the condition and the safety of the Reichsbrücke, arsenal research has installed in cooperation with MA 29 and Aplica Mess- und Prüftechnik a permanent monitoring system consisting of accelerometers and temperature sensors. The main target is to monitor the condition of the bridge, detect cracks and other damages in an early stage, to provide the serviceability and the safety of the bridge.

By using the tool of health monitoring, it is possible to evaluate the actual reliability (bearing capacity, serviceability and durability) of the structure and furthermore to permanent record the structural changes over time. Thus, the condition of the structure is accurately monitored and future developments can be forecasted. In particular, this information can be taken as a base for decisions for ongoing sustainments and give answers for the following questions:

Diagram vibrations

To give an answer on those questions, the records of the vibration characteristics of the structure, the so called modal parameters like natural frequencies, mode shapes and damping values, which were evaluated with special sensors, can be used. From these date, a representative situation of the actual structure can be derived. Health monitoring and permanent assessment of Reichsbrücke has been given to commission by the municipal department MA 29 (Dep. for bridge- and soil engineering) to the business unit of transport routes engineering of arsenal research.

Health Monitoring >> Application

The maintenance and monitoring of bridges plays in the economic point of view an important role. Reliable monitoring of the structures is for this reason a main task for the future.

To assess a structure, it is nowadays state of the art to perform a reference measurement with an additional fiinite element model, where the results of the measurement will fit to the numerical model. This reference mesurement as well as the FE-Model are the base for ongoing measurements, where changes in the dynamic properties can be detected. For a continuing monitoring of the structure, it is possible to do this by permanent or periodic assessment.

Flow chart measurements

back to top

Health Monitoring >> Problem formulation

In terms of the supposed life span of the existing structural inventory, there will be enormous costs for maintenance and costs for retrofitting to keep the structure on the necessary safety level. In most cases, it will be necessary to perform in additionally to the visual inspections, a target oriented structural monitoring, to give a quantitative database of objective test results, for future decisions on arrangements.

Austria has a dispositional ability of approximate 9.5 billion € of 12.000 bridges with a total area of 7.4 million m² under traffic, for example. The annual costs for sustainment ranges from 10 to 15 € per m², of trafficable bridge area. Next to strategic costs due to utilization restrictions during the retrofitting works, the costs for reconditioning in bridge engineering are approximate 0.8 % to 2.5 % of the costs of its new construction.

With regard to the necessary investigation decisions for sustentation of structures, there is still the open question of remaining lifetime, actual state of serviceability and load bearing capacity. The remaining lifetime of a structure is mainly dependent on the appropriate service works, which was carried out during the time. Due to the less money, which is often available for the sustainment, this should be used to get the biggest advantage. The choice of planning the sustainment and maintenance methods are comparable to an optimizing task, where the parameters on the one hand side is the fulfilment of the safety/reliability, on the another hand side the costs in accordance to the lifetime is.

back to top

Zustandsüberwachung der Reichsbrücke

Wind, Erdbeben, Straßenverkehr und viele andere Einflüsse stellen eine Belastung für eine Brücke über den Lebenszeitraum dar. Um den Zustand und die Sicherheit der Reichsbrücke laufend erfassen zu können, wurde von arsenal research in Zusammenarbeit mit der MA 29 und Aplica Mess- und Prüftechnik ein Überwachungssystem aus Beschleunigungs- und Temperatursensoren installiert. Ziel ist es, den Zustand der Brücke zu überwachen, Schäden frühzeitig zu erkennen und somit die Gebrauchstauglichkeit und Sicherheit der Brücke zu gewährleisten.

Mit Hilfe der Zustandsüberwachung ("Health Monitoring") wird die aktuelle Zuverlässigkeit (Tragfähigkeit, Gebrauchstauglichkeit und Dauerhaftigkeit) des Tragwerkes und deren Veränderungen über die Zeit zu verfolgt und protokolliert. Dadurch wird der Tragwerkszustand genau überwacht und allenfalls die künftige Entwicklung prognostiziert. Insbesondere sollen - um eine Entscheidungsgrundlage für die Erhaltung zu erarbeiten - Fragen beantwortet werden, wie:

Diagramm Schwingungen

Zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen werden nach Aufzeichnung der Schwingungscharakteristik des Tragwerkes mit speziellen Sensoren die sogenannten modalen Parameter Eigenfrequenzen, Eigenschwingungsformen und Dämpfungswerte ausgewertet. Diese werden herangezogen um ein repräsentatives Bild über den aktuellen Tragwerkszustand abzuleiten.

Die Zustandsüberwachung wurde von der Magistratsabteilung 29 (Brückenbau und Grundbau) in Auftrag gegeben und wird durch das Geschäftsfeld Verkehrswege des Forschungs- und Prüfzentrums arsenal research durchgeführt.

Zustandsüberwachung >> Anwendung

Die Instandhaltung und Überwachung von Brücken hat in volkswirtschaftlicher Hinsicht große Bedeutung. Die zuverlässige Überwachung des Bauwerkszustandes ist deshalb für die Zukunft eine wesentliche Aufgabe.

Zur Überwachung der Zustandsentwicklung eines Bauwerks wird üblicherweise eine detaillierte Basismessung durchgeführt, sowie ein Finite-Element-Modell an die Ergebnisse der Messungen angepasst. Diese Basismessung sowie das Referenzmodell dienen als Grundlage der Interpretation von Folgemessungen, die Veränderungen des Eigenschwingungsverhalten aufzeigen können. Bei der zeitlichen Beobachtung des Tragwerkes kann das Konzept der periodischen oder kontinuierlichen Überwachung herangezogen werden.

Ablauf Messung

zurück nach oben

Zustandsüberwachung >> Problemstellung

In Hinblick auf die angenommene Lebensdauer des vorhandenen Bauwerksinventars ergeben sich zukünftig enorme Unterhaltungs- und Sanierungskosten. In vielen Fällen wird es über die reine visuelle Inspektion hinaus erforderlich sein, eine zielführende Bauwerksüberwachung einzuführen, um der Maßnahmenplanung bei Bauwerken auch quantitative, objektive Messwerte und Entscheidungsmerkmale zugrunde zu legen.

In Österreich stehen beispielsweise bei einem veranlagten Vermögen von etwa 9,5 Mrd. € an die 12.000 Brückenobjekte mit einer Gesamtfläche von 7,4 Mio. m² unter Verkehr. Die jährlichen Erhaltungsausgaben sind dabei zwischen 10 und 15 € je m² der befahrbaren Brückenfläche anzusetzen. Neben den strategischen Kosten durch die Nutzungseinschränkung während der Erhaltungsarbeiten belaufen sich die Instandsetzungskosten im Brückenbau jährlich auf etwa 0,8 % bis 2,5 % bezogen auf die Neubaukosten.

In Hinblick auf erforderliche Investitionsentscheidungen sind bei der Unterhaltung von Bauwerken die Fragen der Restnutzungsdauer, der Stand der Tragsicherheit sowie der Gebrauchstauglichkeit zu beantworten. Die Nutzungsdauer eines Bauwerkes hängt entscheidend von der regelmäßigen und sachgemäßen Unterhaltung ab. Die in beschränktem Umfang vorhandenen Mittel zur Erhaltung sind daher auf eine solche Weise einzusetzen, dass diese den größten Nutzen bringen. Die Auswahl und Planung der Erhaltungs- und Instandsetzungsmaßnahmen kommt einer Optimierungsaufgabe gleich, bei der es unter Einhaltung der Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit gilt, die Summe aller Kosten bezogen auf die gesamte Lebensdauer zu minimieren.

Zeitverlauf Brückenlebensdauer

zurück nach oben